Versatile Bloggers Award

versatile blogger award

Thanks to fellow stitcher Helen Elizabeth for nominating me for the Versatile Bloggers Award. She talks a lot about stitching on her blog, A Good Woman, but also discusses spiritual issues and life in general, with lots of humor. You must see the stunning “family tree” she stitched in her “93,100 Stitches of Love” post. I accept the nomination, hoping it will help drive traffic not only to my blog to others’ blogs. We can all help each other out. 🙂

This is the first time I’m trying something like this. I’m going to see how it goes. If people feel pressure to be involved or don’t want to, I completely understand. I will use that information next time I have a chance to participate in a similar blog-growing exercise.

The rules are:

  • Show the award on your blog.
  • Thank the person who nominated you.
  • Share seven facts about yourself.
  • Nominate 15 blogs.
  • Link your nominees’ blogs, and let them know.

Seven facts about me:

  1. In a previous job, I helped clean out a house that was featured on Hoarding: Buried Alive. I had to wear a Tyvek suit with the hood, mask, booties – all that stuff – because the place was infested with roaches and mice. My friends watched to get a glimpse of me, and had to sit through 45 minutes of roaches to see me for thirty seconds.
  2. I am practically a fish, love to swim. I was a competitive swimmer in high school and my parents found it nearly impossible to get me out of the water when I was a kid.
  3. Until I was almost 14, I lived on a 100+ acre farm in the Finger Lakes Region of New York. We had 100 acres of grapes, and many more acres of corn, tomatoes, raspberries, and other crops.
  4. A few dirty dishes in the sink don’t bother me — I’ll get to them — but I can’t stand to see the soap bottle with the top open.
  5. My favorite band is Rush.
  6. My 4-foot Christmas Tree is still up because I find the warmth of the light to be comforting. The ornaments are off, so it’s just a lit tree, and no longer a Christmas Tree. 🙂
  7. I read mostly nonfiction, particularly about WWII and the American Civil War.

The 15 blogs I nominate are:

  1. Dianne Rambling On
  2. Warrior Freya
  3. Taking One Stitch at a Time
  4. Colliding Universe
  5. Clicky Chick Creates
  6. Ariadne from Greece
  7. Julie’s Lifestyle
  8. Normandy Life
  9. sewscrapmuse
  10. Random Musings Of A Hotel Goddess
  11. Tailspin Farms
  12. Gippsland Granny
  13. Movie Musie – Erin Expounds
  14. Summer Sewing Room
  15. A Stitchers Ramblings

I hope you get a chance to visit these wonderful blogs and decide to stick around.

Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. Thank you for the nomination and the award. I will try to continue it. We will see as I am really very busy these days!AriadnefromGreece!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Very nice acceptance blog. Thanks for accepting and for the compliments. If your experience is anything like mine, it definitely increased the number of views I received so I feel it helped immensely. But it is your own choice. I do see a lot of people who post on their blogs that it is a “No Award” blog which I also respect. I personally will take a look at your nominated blogs. Thanks again.

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks. I noticed the “no award” blog on a few blogs I wanted to nominate, too. I hope I didn’t miss it on any that I did nominate, but I figure I will try this and see what happens. Thanks for thinking of me.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Mindy…Thank you for the nomination and the award! I am thankful and will gladly pass it on…I hope it’s okay if I can’t find 15 blogs…I will get a post up today…Thanks again!

    Like

    Reply
  4. Thank for the nomination, working on my list now.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Thank you Mindy for the nomination! it’s lovely you thought of me! hope its ok if I dont take part, I don’t have time but I sure will visit the list you have up 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  6. Hi Mindy, thanks so much for nominating me for the Versatile Bloggers Award. I’m sorry but at this time I will have turn down the award. Thanks so much for thinking of me and I appreciate it.

    Like

    Reply
    • You’re welcome, and I completely understand about not having time to participate. Hopefully, some new people found your blog through the link on mine.

      Like

      Reply
  7. Natasha

     /  February 3, 2015

    Thank you for nominating me for this award. I will try and get around to following through with the requirements this week. Thanks 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  8. margarita978

     /  February 6, 2015

    Thank you for nominating me for this award. I just posted to my page. I’m excited about the award. Thank You!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment