Cross Stitch 15 Miras in 15 Days, Angel of the New Dawn

Mirabilia collage

I’m working on getting my WIPs gathered so that I can make some sort of loose schedule for finishing some projects. It was so much easier when all I did was cross stitch, but I love that I have expanded my horizons a bit over the past five years or so and now also have fun needlepointing and crocheting, and sometimes embroidering. I’m starting to incorporate a little ribbon embroidery into some needlepoint, and my technique is slowly getting better.

1116141535 (1)This week I will be working more on my Angel of the New Dawn from Mirabilia. She’s been an WIP for years, and I do work on her a little here and there. I love the subtle colors in this one. Then again, I don’t think I’ve ever met a Mirabilia I didn’t like – and you can tell that by looking at my stash. My photo isn’t the best ever, but you can see where I am with it.

As I mentioned in an earlier post, I am taking part in the 15 in 15 Days starting in January 2015. The purpose of this is to start 15 Mirabilias in the first 15 days of January, with the goal of finishing them by the end of the year. I’m trying to be somewhat realistic (though my version of reality tends to be a bit more optimistic than it should be), so some of them are WIPs. To be honest, I doubt I will be able to finish them all, but I’m going to see where I end up. I’m also planning to start them all in January, not necessarily one every day for the first 15 days. With work and other commitments, I don’t get to stitch every day, as much as I’d like to.

I also chose designs for which I already had fabric. As much as I love buying fabric, things are a bit tight at the moment and it just makes sense to use what I already have. I always say that I buy craft items on sale so that I have them when finances are tight, so I need to stick to that.

So, here’s my list (seen in the photo collage at the top of the page):

1. Garden Verses (WIP)
2. Angel of the New Dawn (WIP)
3. Sleeping Beauty (WIP)
4. Rose Celebration (WIP)
5. Spring Queen (WIP)
6. Fairie Treasures (WIP)
7. Mermaids of the Deep Blue
8. 2001 Mirabilia Cherub
9. Blossom Harvest
10. Mermaid of Atlantis
11. Queen Mermaid
12. South Seas Mermaid
13. Touching the Autumn Sky
14. Amethyst Fairy
15. Enchanted Dreamer

I’d love to hear from anyone who is also a big Mirabilia fan. I find Nora’s designs use color in a very interesting way. Sometimes I pick the colors and think, “How the heck is THAT going to work?” I just go with it and trust the process, and when the project is done that color fits right in. I don’t know how she does that.

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. claire93

     /  November 16, 2014

    wow you’re feeling very courageous ^^

    Like

    Reply
  2. That’s really adventurous of you!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Thanks! I’m not sure if I’m courageous, adventurous, or plum out of my mind. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  4. warriorfreya

     /  November 17, 2014

    I have been working on Garden Verses for a while. When I went off to college she sort of fell to the wayside, as did most of my hobbies.

    Lately I’ve been stitching a lot of the Dragon Dreams designs. They are smaller projects, and have let me get back into the swing of things.

    I plan to finish up Garden Verses in the new year. She’ll be the biggest project I’ve completed. : )

    Good luck with you list. All of those patterns are gorgeous.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Thanks! I really like Dragon Dreams designs, too. I’ve stitched a few, but my favorite is “Why Hoard Gold When You Can Hoard Chocolate?”

    Like

    Reply
  6. warriorfreya

     /  November 18, 2014

    My favorite is ‘The Dragon of Hope’. It is a complimentary pattern from 2005. Below is a link to the Dragon Dreams sample chart page if you want to take a look at it.

    Not that I’m trying to pull you away from Mirabilia. : )

    http://bit.ly/11xY6vY

    Like

    Reply
  7. Oh, I remember that one, with the dragon holding the globe. I had to go look at it to remember. That’s a very sweet design. I love my Mirabilias, but I definitely like a lot of other designers. Sometimes, I think it would be easier if I only liked one or two designers.

    Like

    Reply
  8. Lela Van Horn

     /  September 10, 2016

    Hello, I just found your page. Sadly so many of these designs have been discontinued. So, I want to ask if you are willing to copy and share? Please contact me at lelavanhorn50@gmail.com. I have searched for several of these with no luck. In advance, thank you.ll

    Like

    Reply
  9. Lynn Shields

     /  October 25, 2020

    I also love Mirabilia Designs. I have done Rose Celebration, Sabrina, The South Seas Mermaid, and Santa’s Magic

    Like

    Reply
  1. WIP Wednesday | Mindy's Needlework Mania

Leave a comment