WIP Wednesday

WIP Wednesday 3-11-15

This week seems to have been my cross stitch week. For a long time, I was crocheting most of the time, but now I seem to have my cross stitch mojo back. Stitching all those beautiful Mirabilias definitely helps – that, and I’m looking forward to Celebration of Needlework in Nashua, NH at the end of April. I finally finished starting the rest of my 15 Miras in 15 Days list. I made decent progress on all of them, but am particularly happy with Woodland Fairy, probably because I backstitched her face so that she seems a bit more real. Above are my most recent photos (in order) of Mermaids of the Deep Blue (not sure of fabric), Christmas Wishes (on 32ct Dyeing4U 32ct Gold Dust lugana), Amethyst Fairy (on 32ct Ray of Light linen, and Woodland Fairy (stitched on 32ct Misty Blue linen).

Most of these I started this past week, but I started Mermaids of the Deep Blue back in January, so I actually have a comparison photo. I find it really helps me to see my progress when I put them next to each other. To be honest, I would have had more done on this one if I hadn’t been off on the skin of the arms of the second mermaid and had to take some of it out. Still I’m happy with my progress. (The second photo is a more accurate color portrayal, as the first one is a bit grey.)

First photo, 1-16-15

First photo, 1-16-15 (several days of work)

Second photo, 3-11-15

Second photo, 3-11-15

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. These Mirabilia designs are beautiful. So glad to see your progress. I myself haven’t done any significant stitching for a while so I also need to try to get my mojo back.

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks. I seem to be getting into a groove where I focus on one hobby each week. I’m not doing that completely, but it is working out that way. I love Mirabilias so much, they always bring me back. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  2. Mermaids looks to have stitched up reasonably quickly too! I’m in love with that design, it’s on my 2016 list.

    Like

    Reply
  3. The mermaids tend to stitch up more quickly than the others, I think. I guess it’s because they don’t have the long flowing fancy dresses. That long dress on Lady of the Flag about put me over the edge a few years ago, lol.

    Like

    Reply
  4. I love the designs you’re working on! I’m in ME and am debating driving to Nashua that Sat to do some shopping with the vendors there. Have you been before? Is it a large event?

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks. I have been to the event at Nashua many times. I think my friend and I have been going for close to ten years, now. The market isn’t as big as it once was but you can still find some great items to buy. There are many people who attend and we have made quite a few friends over the years. It might be worth it for you to go for the day – there is a good bit of variety of products in the market, and it’s a great way to see them up close rather than online.

      Like

      Reply
  5. Love seeing your progress on these. Mermaids of the Deep Blue is one of my favorite patterns and I have been itching to get my hands on it. I have been behaving though and have promised myself no more stash unless I can manage a finish. Sigh… Until then I will simply live vicariously through you! 😉 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

