WIP Wednesday

WIP Wednesday 2-25-15

 

New yarn for CAL

New yarn for CAL

CAL  square #1

CAL square #1

I’ve only been working on a few projects since last Wednesday. Much of my craft time went to Moogly’s CAL. As usual, I am unable to leave well enough alone, and restarted it. I stitched the first two blocks (she’s up to #4), and got stuck on the third block. I was going to move onto the fourth block and come back to #3, then I realized that I just wasn’t very happy with the bulkiness of the squares. I think next year I may go with a DK yarn, but since I was in a hurry to replace my yarn for this one, I went to Michael’s and – lo, and behold! – Caron Simply Soft was on sale. That pretty much clinched it, since Caron Simply Soft is a tad thinner than the worsted I was originally using. I also changed the colors and how I’m stitching them: Each square will have a variegated center with one color for the rest. I think that will be easier for me, as this is my first blanket made of elaborate (for me) squares.

So, I have finished the first block and will eventually get caught up on the rest. I will use the old yarn for some pretty scarves, as I really do like the color combinations. I’m using a similar combination for my new one, as you’ll see. I only bought one skein each of the old yarn, which is good. I’ll continue buying the Caron as needed.

Chinese dragon - full - 2-24-15

Almost a picture of the full canvas. The side borders are identical, so you get the idea.

Chinese dragon - closeup dragon - 2-24-15

Detail of the small amount of dragon I’ve stitched using various metallics. I love it!

Chinese dragon - border - 2-24-15

Detail of the border, stitched in Planet Earth silk. It’s mostly basketweave but I’ve used a few special stitches to give it a little added interest.

Other than that, I worked one night on my needlepoint Chinese Dragon. I haven’t worked on him in quite some time and forgot he beautiful he is. I’m looking forward to seeing him stitched in all his metallic glory. I took a few pictures so that you can see the whole project and some detail. I’m using Planet Earth silk for the border, Threadworx cotton floss for the inside background, and Kreinik, Threadworx, and Rainbow Gallery threads for the actual dragon. I don’t want the background to have too much of that stripey look you can sometimes get when working with variegated floss. So, using four strands at a time, I reverse two strands when I separate the strands, and skip around in one area just a little to give it more of a natural look.

Blossom Harvest 2-24-15

Second day on Blossom Harvest

 

Finally, I got a little time in on Blossom Harvest last night. I finished her face, except for the backstitching of her lips and a little of her hair because I don’t have those colors at the moment, and that always helps me to move on to the rest. I know other people are the opposite, preferring to stitch the face last, but there’s something about those pretty faces that inspire me to (eventually) finish the designs. The fabric I’m using is a little more blue than it appears in the picture. I’m looking forward to finishing the stitching so that I can add the big beads to her hair and get rid of those holes.

This is the first time in years that I’ve been able to do a little in all three of my main hobbies, mainly because my job hours are so low. So, while I hate having to look for work and not having much money, it’s given me more time for my hobbies. I’m very thankful for the part-time job I have that keeps me working in my field of choice.

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Your square is pretty. I can do granny squares and that’s about it. I’ve made quite a few throws with them though, different colours, different sizes etc, it’s surprising how many different designs you can come up with.
    My knitted throw is not coming along very quickly, I have all the squares knitted, and sewn together with backstitch, the seams are proud on the front, and now I’m blanket stitching the ridges with the main colour.
    Sewing the ends in is a job I really dislike though so I keep putting it off, and of course, it’s not portable anymore, I can’t just pop it into my handbag and do some at lunchtime.
    No pictures as yet on my blog for this one, it’s for Eldest Daughter, and I’d like her to see it all done first. nearly there though. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  2. Thanks. 🙂 I’m really liking these colors. I think that sewing the squares together is going to be my biggest hurdle, too. It’s like when I needlepoint or cross stitch something, then have to frame it or finish it into something – takes me forever.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Holy moly, that dragon is stunning!
    Great job on all of your progress 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks! I should have finished that dragon a long time ago, but got away from needlepoint for a while. Funny, I was at my needlepoint shop when they got the canvas and put it up on the wall. As soon as I saw it, I started stitching it in my head. When that happens, it’s only a matter of time before I buy it. In this case, it only took about an hour before I caved, lol.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Holy Moly, your dragon is stunning!
    Fantastic progress on all three! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Thanks! I should have finished that dragon a long time ago, but got away from needlepoint for a while. Funny, I was at my needlepoint shop when they got the canvas and put it up on the wall. As soon as I saw it, I started stitching it in my head. When that happens, it’s only a matter of time before I buy it. In this case, it only took about an hour before I caved, lol.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

