WIP Wednesday

WIP Wednesday 2-18-15

It’s a long story, but starting this week I’m only working 10 hours a week. Of course, I am looking for full-time work and have some other irons in the fire, but I can use this (hopefully short) time to catch up on some stitching, as well as some other projects around the house. However, for my first week of working less, I sure seem to be busy. Funny how that works.

Emerald Mermaid comparison 2-18-15Queen Mermaid comparison 2-18-152001 Mirabilia cherub comparison 2-18-15Since last Wednesday, I started more of my Mirabilias slated for 15 Miras in 15 Days. I usually don’t take pictures of projects I have just started because they just look like weird blobs of color, but I will do so for the blog. I think it will also help me see when I’m making progress. I’m stitching Emerald Mermaid on Desert Island 32ct. Lugana from Sugar Maple Fabrics, Queen Mermaid on Aquarius 32ct. Lugana from Sugar Maple Fabrics and the 2001 Mirabilia Cherub on mystery fabric that looks like white 32ct. Lugana. (I believe Sugar Maple Fabrics is no longer in business, but please correct me if I’m wrong about that and I will add a link.)

I made more progress on my temperature scarf, which has some different colors this week due to the extremely cold temperatures we’ve been experiencing. I may make another one of these next year, using the same colors and temperature ranges, but basing the color I use on the lowest temperature of the day, rather than the highest.

receiving blanket 2-18-15I also made some progress on a receiving blanket I’m making for a charity group I recently joined. Based in West Philadelphia, they make all sorts of projects, depending on the need of organizations – hats, scarves, blankets, etc. They recently made scarves and hats for my employer, the Pennsylvania Prison Society, to give to returning citizens. A friend of mine invited me to join them, and I’m so glad she did. The blanket is stitched with Red Heart Soft in a small granny stripe pattern.

charity scarves 2-18-15

I finally finished off a few more scarves for my women’s group at church. All of these were in some form of progress: The two cream and brown ones just needed the tails sewn in; the wine-colored scarf was half done, so I finished it; and the black and grey scarf I found in a bag – I had forgotten all about it – and only needed a few more rows added to it. In case you are interested, the cream and brown scarves were made by using two colors at once (Knit Picks Brava Worsted); they are both worked in double crochet, one stitched vertically and the other stitched horizontally. The wine-colored scarf is one I featured a while back on the blog, using wine Knit Picks Brava Worsted. The grey and black scarf is half-double crochet, and I changed yarns every two rows (Red Heart Worsted).

I’m embarrassed to say that I’m already behind on Moogly’s CAL. I keep saying I will start that second block, but I keep finding something else to do. She’s already posted block #3, and will soon post #4. I have to be careful to not let this bother me too much, as I’m a bit of a perfectionist sometimes turn my hobbies into something I feel obligated to work on, which does not help my anxiety levels that have been raised a bit lately. It’s amazing, the things we allow to bother us, isn’t it?

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. I love your Mirabilia collection- so beautiful! I finally purchased a pattern (“Spring Topiary Garden”), but I’m way too intimidated to start it yet. I’m currently in a job lull too, so I’m also using this time to catch up on some stitching. Good luck! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks. Yeah, those job lulls are useful for something. 🙂 I used to think Mirabilias were intimidating, too. Think of them as one stitch at a time. They tend to be easier to stitch than a lot of smaller designs I’ve stitched, as Nora is great with color blocks and few confetti stitches. You’ll do great!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. There are so many beautiful Mirabilia patterns I want to do. How long do they usually take you to do?

    Like

    Reply
    • It depends. The mermaids tend to take me around 70 hours, the bigger ones (like Lady of the Flag) took closer to 100 hours. I haven’t tracked in a while, but the smaller pieces (like the 2001 Cherub) took around 40-50 hours. It depends on how much beadwork is involved, too.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      • Wow! But they’re so beautiful, so it’s worth it! I’ve never had to do any beadwork before, but one of the projects I’m working on has a bunch so hopefully I’ll master it before tackling my Mirabilia. Thanks for answering all my questions today! 🙂

        Like

      • You’re welcome. 🙂 There are different ways of attaching beads, so play around a little and see what works for you. I personally use floss that matches the fabric. Others use floss that matches the bead. Many use YLI invisible thread, but I find that my eyes try to see it and it ends up straining them a little. You can find some great tutorials at https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=attach+beads+cross+stitch

        Like

Leave a Reply

