February WIPocalypse, Part One

This month’s WIPocalypse question is: How do you overcome that feeling that you’re in a rut with a particular project?

I don’t know that I overcome it, but I work around it. I have many projects going at once so I always have something to keep my interest. If I’m working on a large project, I usually work on it for a while, work on something else, then come back to it. If I have deadlines I try to start early enough to give myself time to do that.

Sometimes, I have deadlines that are looming (holidays, birthdays, commission jobs) and I just have to work through it. When that happens, I make sure I take small breaks so that I don’t overtax my hands and get away from it for a few minutes — take a walk around the block, just chill out for a little while, read, etc.

If I’m truly not interested in a project I started, I will put it away for longer. Sometimes I will get the urge to work on it again, and then I get into a groove and get a lot accomplished. I’ve had a few small projects that irritated me much more than any large projects, and I just got rid of them — life’s too short. I also learned that I really cannot take on any needlepoint projects that are strict basketweave or continental with few colors, because stitching them make me fall asleep – literally. I found I prefer using different stitches because it helps keep my interest. I do use continental and basketweave in many of the projects I have in my stash, but I’m changing colors often and still using other stitches, so it keeps my brain occupied.

I think it really depends on what kind of stitcher you are. Some people really don’t like to have one or just a few projects going because they feel pressure to finish them. For better or worse, I don’t feel a lot of pressure to finish most of my projects anytime soon, except for gifts and some charity stitching, so I’m OK going from one project to another. Once in a while I get in a “finish” mode, and that is helpful.

I don’t want to go on and on, so will update my actual WIPocalypse projects in another post.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

