Throw Back Thursday

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI was looking through some of my old photos on Photobucket and saw my finished Lady of the Flag. It’s another one of those pieces for which I have a very specific framing idea in mind, so until I figure out exactly how I want it done, it is sitting in a drawer. When I first started her, I didn’t realize how huge she is — that dress is a whole lot of yellows, tans, gold, and beads! But she was so worth it. I love the drape of the flag, the shadow effect is wonderful. Nora Corbett created her as a memorial to 9/11/01, and she is a beautiful tribute. I don’t know if this is by design or by coincidence, but I see the three roses as representing each site of terrorist attacks on that day: the World Trade Center, the Pentagon, and Shanksville, PA.

My idea is to have her framed within a large mat that has cut-outs for quotes that I will either print on acid-free paper or stitch on similar fabric. The paper will probably be easier to frame, cost less, and take less time. The quotes will be about freedom and justice, but not the “eye-for-an-eye” justice. I don’t want her to have anything to do with war, nor do I want her to be a “We’re #1!” type of angel, but more about the basic ideals America was based on regarding life, liberty, and happiness. While we have never  lived up to that ideal – heck at the time only white men with land could vote – I do believe it is something that most Americans strive for. The sticky wicket is that we all see different ways of making it happen, hence the conflict. This isn’t a political blog, so I won’t go on about that, but you can understand why this has been at the back of my mind for quite some time, yet I haven’t quite found the perfect way to do it.

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. This is absolutely beautiful. Nora Corbett has some beautiful designs. I have a lot of finished stitching in a drawer also. My biggest joy is in the stitching of the piece. I am less enthused about the framing or finishing. But your lady of liberty is beautiful now and will be terrific with the idea you have in mind for framing.

    Like

    Reply
  2. She is gorgeous!! Don’t agonize too long over the framing – she needs to be liberated from that drawer! Why not just use simple words rather than phrases? Truth, justice, liberty, freedom…

    Like

    Reply
    • Maybe. This is always my problem: I get an idea in my head and it’s hard for me to do anything until I can totally get that vision together. Thanks for your comments. She took a long time, but I’m so happy with her.

      Like

      Reply
  3. It’s absolutely beautiful! I hope I will see it framed at some point!AriadnefromGreece!

    Like

    Reply
  4. Your lady is beautiful! And I love the idea of a Throwback Thursday featuring older pieces – I might have to ‘borrow’ that idea from you 😉

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

