Moogly’s 2015 CAL’s Block #2 is available

2015-Afghan-CAL-Main-Graphic

 

CAL2015_01I finished my first block of Moogly’s 2015 CAL. It isn’t perfect but I’m working on not trying to always be perfect when I try something new. Otherwise, I’ll never try anything. (And, as you can see, I’m still working on my photography skills.) I did learn a new technique called Jacob’s Ladder, where you make large loops with crochet chains and chain the loops with your fingers to make a more three-dimensional look. I like how it turned out. My plan is to use the variegated yarn for the center of each square, using two of the three colors (purple, lavender, teal) for the rest of the square. This one looks a little strange with the variegated in the middle, but I think that once it is blocked, I finish all the squares, and put them together the consistency will work. And if it doesn’t come out the way I planned, that’s fine, too — I’ll still have a colorful and warm afghan. 🙂

The second square is up and it’s really gorgeous and challenging — challenging to me, anyway. I plan on starting it later in the week or next weekend, after I work on some other projects. As usual, I don’t want to post the photo of the new block here because I want to be sure people visit Moogly Blog so that she gets recognition for her work in organizing the project.

Anyone else working on this project? I’d love to see your squares.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. claire93

     /  January 24, 2015

    lovely purples ^^

    Like

    Reply
  2. Thanks! The look so beautiful with the teal color that I will be using in the next square. I went in a completely different direction with the colors than originally planned, but when I saw that purple and tea variegated yarn, I went with it.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

