Throw Back Thursday – Angel of Love

Angel of LoveIt’s that time again! I’m going to share a little story behind my stitching Lavender & Lace’s “Angel of Love.” She is also known as the “Computer Chip Angel” (or something similar) because the intricate beadwork and use of metallics reminds many of the inside of a computer. If you click the photo of the close-up (below), you can see the details.)

I started this angel several years ago, and finished it in 2006 or 2007. The picture, obviously, is before it was framed, and there’s a reason I don’t have a picture of her framed — I will get to that. I am not a big stitcher of angels, but I saw this one as a challenge and enjoyed it. I don’t care for stitching angel wings, as all those shades of white and grey get on my nerves pretty quickly. So, I would stitch a small section of the wings, then move on to other parts of the angel. I did that often enough that the wings weren’t too bad and I didn’t stick myself with them at the end.

Angel of Love detail

Well, after I was done stitching her, I didn’t know what to do with her. I think she’s beautiful, but neither Tim nor I are really into angels and I wanted to spend my framing money on my mermaids and other items. At about this time, my 93-year-old grandmother became ill and went into Hospice in Naples, NY. It was a lovely house, and my grandmother had a small room to herself with some items she brought from home. The people who worked and volunteered there were incredible. When my grandmother passed, I decided I would add “In memory of Eleanor Bogue, 1913-2007” at the bottom and donate it to the Hospice house for decoration. I talked with my parents and they paid to have it framed. They delivered it, since they live in that area and I’m a good five hours away. So, that’s why I don’t have a picture of it framed, as I never saw it framed — though I was assured it looked great.

So, you never know what may happen to something you stitch that may not fit into your decor. I was so happy to have stitched her and met the challenge I set for myself, and even happier to donate it to Hospice. I hope that it helps people with fatal illnesses feel just a little better, and also that it comforts those who work there.

Have you ever stitched a piece “just because,” then struggled to find a home for it afterward?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. I can struggle. Just because I’m the only female in a very male household!

    Like

    Reply
    • LOL, I imagine you must struggle or else everything is boy stuff. My framed Mirabilias are hanging in the house and Tim seems to like them, but he has some of his own projects hanging, too. I like fairies, but not as crazy about angels, which makes no sense to me.

      Like

      Reply
  2. What a beautiful gift! I was surprised to read you stitched her as a challenge for yourself, but what a reward you gave yourself to finish and donate her! Congratulations!

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks! I had seen her for quite a while and that skirt, with all the metallics and beads, seemed very daunting. So, I decided to give it a try. I’m so glad I did. 🙂 I’ve seen other versions of her in red, green and purple, and they are all gorgeous.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Wow, what a sweet and thoughtful thing to do! She is gorgeous!!

    Like

    Reply
  4. The 2nd 35 Years

     /  January 23, 2015

    So beautiful! Most of my stitching is in a drawer. 😦

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks! Sadly, much of my stitching is in a drawer, too. Every time I find a great needlework framer, they retire. I’ve gone to other framers and asked how they would frame needlework, but most of them start talking about glue and I smile nicely while I’m cringing inside.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      • The 2nd 35 Years

         /  January 24, 2015

        So my Mom told me about American Framing Company (online), where you can order whatever pieces you need to assemble it yourself (including a matte). I’ve found some good videos on pinning and lacing, so I am starting to self frame, and it is turning out well, and for a reasonable price! Hopefully fewer of my pieces will be in a drawer!

        Like

      • That’s great! I keep telling myself I need to learn how to lace and pin myself. I know I could save a lot of money, but I worry I will really mess it up. I’m one of those people who sees something as straight when it’s a little crooked, and thinks something is crooked when it’s straight, lol. Maybe I will make that a goal for 2016. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • The 2nd 35 Years

         /  January 24, 2015

        Practice makes perfect! Go for it!

        Like

  5. What a wonderful piece of work which will be admired for years to come by many people. A beautiful generous gift in memory of your gran.

    Like

    Reply
  6. Mindy,
    Wow oh Wow! Your stitching on her is stunning. I don’t know how you didn’t keep from going crazy doing the middle of her skirt.

    I think your donating it to Hospice in your Grandmother’s honor is a sweet thing to do.

    Like

    Reply
  7. Thanks, Carolyn. That skirt was definitely a challenge. I have seen photos from people who have stitched it a few times, in different colorways. I can’t imagine!

    Like

    Reply
  8. This is SO beautiful and so very intricate!! I love the Lavender and Lace collection! Well done you!

    Like

    Reply
    • Thank you. I have stitched some of her other angles and have all the Celtic ladies and at some point will stitch them all. I finished Summer a while back, but haven’t yet tackled the others.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

