January WIPocalypse

2015 WIPocalypse collage

January 5- Topic: Introduce yourself, your projects, and any goals you have for the year!

I’m Mindy. I’ve been cross-stitching for over 30 years, needlepointing for at least five years, crocheting for a tad over two years, and adding in a little ribbon embroidery, embroidery, and crewel into the mix. I also want to start crazy quilting, but really want to get some of my WIPS out of the way first. Until I discovered the Internet, I was very good about not starting a new project until I finished the old one. Then, I found all these designers I didn’t know existed and found out about rotation stitching. Again, I was good with the rotation stitching until I discovered needlepoint, then crochet – now it’s all gone to heck and I have so many projects going I don’t know what to do with myself, lol.

I currently work two part-time jobs. While it’s not ideal, it brings in enough money to keep me going. If only I were independently wealthy and could volunteer a few days a week and stitch the rest. Ah well, this is the way most of us get by. 🙂 I was doing really well with exercising, but after a bout with Lyme in August (they caught it quickly, thank God!), and continuing dealings with anemia and anxiety, my energy levels haven’t been great. I’m slowly getting back into the swing of things and have found some ways to start dealing with my anxiety and iron issue besides just taking anxiety medicine and iron supplements – though those are definitely life-savers! I also know that I need to make time for my hobbies, which also helps me fight anxiety. That may be TMI, but I’m a believer in not hiding such problems. If I had a broken leg people wouldn’t think less of me (probably depends on how I broke it), so people shouldn’t think less of people dealing with illnesses that cannot be seen.

On a happier note, I watch a lot of TV while working on my projects. I don’t read as much as I used to, but I do read when I take the train downtown two days a week for that job, so I get it done slowly. I think I need to get more audio books so that I can stitch and “read” at the same time. I enjoy everything from Game of Thrones to Bob’s Burgers, and I can probably quote just about every episode of Seinfeld and King of the Hill.

My general WIPocalypse goals include starting specific projects (I’m in the 15 Mirabilias in 15 days group) and finishing some in each type of hobby in which I engage. I also plan to crochet various scarves to have on hand as gifts and to possibly start a stock to sell. So, I’m sure my list will change as I go, but this is what I’m starting with.

Projects to start in 2015

Cross Stitch
2001 Mirabilia Cherub
Blossom Harvest
Mermaid of Atlantis
Queen Mermaid
South Seas Mermaid
Touching the Autumn Sky
Amethyst Fairy
Enchanted Dreamer

Crochet
10 infinity scarves for gifts or to sell
Temperature scarf
Moogly’s 2015 Crochet-Along afghan
special project I need to finish with a friend in February

Projects to finish in 2015

Cross Stitch
Garden Verses (Mirabilia)
Angel of the New Dawn (Mirabilia)
Sleeping Beauty (Mirabilia)
Mermaids of the Deep Blue (Mirabilia)
Quaker Diamonds (Rosewood Manor)

Needlepoint (I don’t remember designers at the moment)
Geisha Cats (picture at top, just need to finish the ribbon embroidery and beading in “hair”)
Chinese Dragon
St. Basil’s
Santa stocking

Crochet
Tim’s afghan
Temperature scarf
Moogly’s 2015 Crochet-Along afghan
Baby blanket (soooo close, can finish it in a night or two)

Well, I’m not sure if that’s realistic or not, but let’s see how it goes. I will probably throw in some small projects here and there to break things up, just not sure what at this time. I have some cute stuff from last year’s Celebration of Needlework in New Hampshire, so there are some possibilities there. Many of the Mirabilia WIPs I’ve listed are at least half done, though I have some others that are barely started. I’ll concentrate on them next year.

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Excellent choices! That Chinese dragon is stunning. And I look forward to watching you work on all those Miras (my favorite designs to stitch).

    Like

    Reply
  2. Adding (mentally, need the pattern) mermaids of the deep blue to my list. You can add “enabler” to your description now, lol

    Like

    Reply
  3. Lots of fun stitches in your future! Nice to see another person who is cross stitching and needlepointing.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Erin, I haven’t worked on that dragon in ages and forgot how much I liked it until I took another look. It’s mostly straight needlepoint, but using lots of textures – silks, cottons, and metallics. I was at the shop the day they put it on the wall and it wasn’t long before I couldn’t help myself and I bought it. I know when I start planning in my head how I will stitch a piece, it’s over!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Paula, I’ve been called an enabler, before. 🙂 That is a really beautiful piece. I was working on it last night, and the two dark-haired mermaids put me in mind of my sister and me.

    Like

    Reply
  6. threadmedley – It’s so hard to decide which I want to work on! I wish I could cross stitch and needlepoint (and crochet) at the same time, but even if I had enough arms I’m not sure how my brain would do it.

    Like

    Reply
  7. claire93

     /  January 7, 2015

    lots of lovely projects in store for the coming year ^^

    Like

    Reply
  8. Audio books are amazing. I was struggling to find time to both stitch and read until I gave them a try. It’s so awesome to be able to do two of my passions at the same time. : )

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

