Stitch of the Week: Floral Cross

So, with all that obligation stitching I fell behind on my blog posts. The good news is that the customer stitching is done except for one more project which is small and due in February. I also learned more about what type of paid projects I will take in the future. I plan on being a bit picker.

Now, I’m working on my list of stitching goals for next year. In the meantime, I wanted to share a Stitch of the Week I taught some time ago at Rittenhouse Needlepoint. (I know I mention that shop most often, but it IS my local shop, where I buy my stash, hang out with friends, and teach classes – and stitch customer projects and store models.)

Floral Cross

This is a large stitch and not easy to compensate, so choose your space wisely. As you can see, you can change the look of the stitch depending on the color and thread combinations you choose. For example, stitched in a combination of three different white threads, at least one of them sparkly, this could be a beautiful choice for a stocking cuff. The blue/green version could make a pretty lake, and combining green with a colorful variegated thread like Watercolurs or Threadworx, could create a beautiful image of a garden. It has an architectural feel to it, so shades of the same color could create a pretty building.

For stitching directions, check out the Floral Cross blog post at Rittenhouse Needlepoint. While I stitched the sample and taught the class, they own the CD from which I chose the stitch and I want to be sure to give them credit.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

