Stitch of the Week: Corkscrew

If you’re like me, you can’t stand bouillon knots but love the look of them in some cases. A few years ago I made some of these knots on a small “freeform” hodgepodge of stitches and beads on linen. Those stupid knots actually gave me tendonitis and it took FOREVER to completely go away. So, I vowed I would never do one again and find a way to compensate.

Well, Ruth Schmuff has used what she calls a corkscrew stitch on this Halloween tree she recently taught in a class. Basically, you bring the thread up through the canvas, twist it several times, then come down in the hole next to it.

I don’t want to take any pictures from her blog, but check out both the crazy (in a good way) Halloween design and how she forms this stitch. I’m definitely going to try this for hair or plants when stitching future designs.

And I’m not sure, but I think she placed the beads on the skulls with glow-in-the dark thread. I saw a close-up of the tree and the skulls are beaded, but in that last picture they have a bit of a green look that you sometimes see with items that glow in the dark. Perhaps it’s just the photo, but what a cool idea if she did that?

This is why I love visiting other blogs. People have such interesting ways of using fibers and attachments that I wouldn’t think of.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

